Giving Thanks

By: Meredith Wilshere

Many things come to mind when one thinks of Thanksgiving break: stuffing yourself with copious amounts of food, spending time sitting around watching Gilmore Girls and taking time for yourself. Over this break, I was able to take the time to reflect on the benefits of being able to take a break and had time to reflect upon the things I am thankful for.

I’m thankful for my support system.

This break was dedicated to finding the balance between spending time with my friends and with my family. Both groups mean so much to me, and both offer different types of support. My family keeps me lifted, ensuring that I am doing to best in school and always trying my hardest. They are my lifelines in New York, always pushing me to my full potential. My friends handle the emotional things, making sure that I am doing okay, not always having to be the one to pick myself up. Being far away from each other means that we don’t always get the opportunity to talk, but when we do we can talk until the sun sets and rises again. I am thankful for the people that are in my life.

I’m thankful for time off.

It’s easy to forget to take a break during the school year because each break taken is filled with feelings of regret and remorse. Too many times during the semester I hear the words “I don’t have the time” or “I’m just so busy” leave my lips. I have already decided that I am too busy to do something that might benefit me later, like going for a run or reading a book. Because I had little to no responsibilities , I was able to take some time off and reflect. I read a little bit, I wrote a little bit, and I was able to stop worrying about being somewhere or doing something.

I’m thankful for my opportunities.

I am able to study at a private university because of many people who helped me get to where I am. I have a good, supportive family, friends who love me, opportunities to take classes and learn, and opportunities to grow as a person. I have a support system that is always present, and people who care about my well-being and success. There is so much going on the in the world today that we have to remember to express our gratitude towards what we have and help those who do not have.

 

 

One thought on “Giving Thanks

  1. Meredith Wilshere

    Reblogged this on Meredith Renee Writes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

