Introducing Our New Social Media Intern: Katie!

Hi all,

I’m Katie Locke and I’m a sophomore majoring in Journalism and minoring in Spanish here at BU. I’m thrilled to have been selected as herNetwork’s Social Media Intern for the Spring 2016 semester as well as continuing on the marketing committee. Even though I’m not a student at the Questrom School of Business, I’ve already learned so much from my peers, the women in business I’ve been able to meet through the club! I’m really looking forward to the new experiences I’ll have in the spring semester, especially herNetwork’s Spring Conference in March.

Boston University is actually the third college I’ve enrolled in in three semesters. I spent my first semester as a freshmen at Siena College in Loudonville, New York (an hour away from my home in upstate NY) and the following semester at community college before finally transferring to BU this fall, where I immediately fell in love with the school and the city.

Since I am a latecomer, I’ve made it my personal mission to squeeze four years’ worth of experiences into the three years I’ll be an undergrad at BU. In addition to being on the marketing committee for herNetwork this past semester, I also was a staff writer for the Features section of The Daily Free Press, our fantastic student-run newspaper. I was also chosen to be the Spotlight Editor of Features this coming spring, an opportunity I’m really excited for.

Having grown up in a small, rural town where everyone travels by car, I knew when I moved to Boston that the public transportation system would be a big obstacle that I needed to quickly tackle. As soon as I learned how to get around, I explored the city as often as I could; Newbury Street, Boston Common, and the Museum of Fine Arts are a few of my favorite places, with more to come next semester.

My first semester at BU was better than I even imagined it would be, and being a part of herNetwork definitely helped make it a success. I really encourage other COM students and ladies from all schools within BU to get involved with the club and attend our events. We have some great things planned for the spring, and I can’t wait to get back to work!

Leave a Reply

